News Updates‎ > ‎

SECOND CALL TO MEETING - Biennial Reorganization of the Douglas County Democrats

posted Dec 8, 2020, 6:30 PM by Douglas County Democrats
Dear Elected PCOs,

We are nearing the end of a very long struggle to bring sanity back to our national government.  Most of us have fought this battle daily for five years.  We all know that the work needs to continue.  With your help, we have brighter days ahead!

Your journey as a newly Elected PCO, with a two-year term of office,  has just begun.  One of the most important obligations of the position is the SOLE responsibility to elect new Democratic leadership for our county.  We are counting on you to participate.

Some of you have already responded that you will attend the reorganization meeting next Saturday morning.  Thank you!  For others, completing this RSVP form will permit us to plan and prepare more efficiently.

DCDem Reorg PCO RSVP  

Please RSVP by Friday morning.  Those who indicate they will attend will be sent the slate of nominated candidates and their personal statements, as well as Zoom meeting link information.  Expect to receive this emailed material by midday Friday.

At the reorganization meeting, positions of Chair, Vice-chair (2), State Committee Member (2), Secretary, and Treasurer will be elected.  Because of our bylaws, the virtual nature of the meeting platform (Zoom), and guidelines provided to us by the Washington State Democratic Party, all nominations for elected party offices must be made in advance in order for ballots to be created and candidate statements distributed to YOU in a timely manner.  There will be no nominations from the floor.  The deadline for nominations is 11:59 pm Tuesday (tomorrow), 12/8/2020.  If you would like to run for one of the offices, please complete this form:

DCDem Reorg Nomination Form

If you have questions, please contact us by email, phone, or text.  We look forward to seeing you on Saturday!

It has been an honor to serve for the past two years as your elected leadership team.    

Karen Keleman, Chair, (509) 630-3055
Luther Beaty, Vice-chair, (509) 884-1282
Rebecca Cattin, Secretary, (509) 860-5873
Pam Morris, Treasurer, (509) 669-7608
LaVern Strawn, State Committee Member, (509) 470-1301
Don Spurlock, State Committee Member, (509) 264-7004